2010 Canadian Championship report

The 2010 Canadian Championships were held in Victoria, B.C. from August 11-14 at Glanford Park (Saanich), under a beautiful blue sky and … record heat. Victoria actually set a temperature record three days in a row from August 13 to 15. While, according to Environment Canada, the typical high for this time of year is around 22 degrees, temperature went up to 32.6 degrees C on Sunday August 15, breaking a record set in 1942 (32.2).
There were 168 participants coming from 7 provinces.

Champions were crowned in seven divisions: 
Men – Buddy DYRDA, Alta (66.99%)
Ladies – Sylvianne MOISAN, Que. (77.01%)
Junior Boys – Scott LUMB, Ont. (66.21%)
Junior Girls – Lindsay NOOREN, Ont. (43.35%)
Senior Men – Vic VALLEE, B.C. (39.02%)
Senior Ladies – Ida BOSCHMAN, B.C. (46.63%)
Sr 30′ (Elders) – Larry GRIFFITH, Alberta (69.41%)

The complete results are available here, along with the game by game summaries.

In the Men’s division, Calgary’s Buddy Dyrda, who has roots in Victoria, won the coveted title in his very first try in that division. After losing 3 games out of the first five, despite a 68.65% average (!), 23 year-old Buddy Dyrda recovered and managed to get into a three-way tie for first with Colin Finnie and Andre Leclerc. Andre, who lead the group until his last round-robin game, lost his last three games, including a 39-42 decision against Terry Steinke. In the playoff, Colin Finnie (64.8%) edged Andre 40-26, but then fell 29-42 to Buddy Dyrda (60%) in the final game. Tom Gallina had to forfeit 3 games on day two, but still managed to finish 4th, one win behind the leading trio. The highest losing effort was 72.4% when Buddy fell to Andre’s high game (73.7%) 41-33 in a superb 76-shoe game (round 2). It turned out to be also the longest game of the group. Buddy recorded the high game of the group with an 84.2%.

In the Women’s division, Sylvianne Moisan went undefeated to capture her 14th Canadian title, recording the high average of all the participants in Victoria with 77.01%. Runner-up Jane Cordingley gave Sylvianne her best game when she lost 33-42 despite a 71.4% effort in 70 shoes, longest game in the women’s group. Sylvianne shot 77.1% in that game. The high game was also recorded by Sylvianne with an 87.5% against 3rd place Elyse Brunelle. Lia Snell placed fourth.

In the Senior 30′ (Elders) division, Larry Griffith averaged 69.4% and easily retained his title, finishing 4 wins ahead of his closest rivals. Among them were runner-up Alvin Nanninga, a rookie in that division, and former champion Howard Weitzel. Tied with them but in 4th place was Neil Yaskow. Larry Griffith recorded the high game of 88.9% against fellow Albertan Alvin Nanninga. Maurice Stern gave Griffith one of his losses 40-38 in 74 shoes, the longest game of the group. Percentages were 67.6% vs 66.7%. Stern also had another 74-shoe game vs Bob Waterman.

A new champion was crowned in the Senior Men’s division. Vic Vallee also won with a comfortable margin, 5 wins ahead of runner-up Colin Nicholson who recorded the high game of the group with 59.4% which caused one of Vallee’s two losses. Longest game was 72 shoes involving the same two players in another round.

Ida Boschman remained undefeated to capture her third Senior Ladies division title. Ida had won that title also in 2006 and 2008. This year she was so dominant that only one opponent could reach 20 points: runner-up Betty Clarke. Betty had the high game honors with a 61.5% against former champion Dorothy Krimmer.

In the Junior Boys division, Scotty Lumb won his third consecutive title, this time with a 66.2% average. Runner-up Mathew MacDonald, who lost only his two encounters with Scotty, got the most points in the first one with 16 (they were playing 30 point-games). In their second encounter, Scotty recorded his high game with an impressive 85.7%. Sam Degraaf took 3rd place. Longest game of the group was 74 shoes and involved Steve Cordingley and Anthony Bott. Lindsay Nooren also went undefeated and also captured her third consecutive Junior Girls title with a 43.35% average. Her high game was a 61.1% against Mia Lacasse. Cheyann Newman was runner-up followed by Nicole Dabney.

At the banquet held Saturday evening, at Langford Legion, winners and champions received their awards. Among other special presentations made, Dianne Beck and Sam Tomasevic were inducted into the Horseshoe Canada Hall of Fame as outstanding volunteers. Presentations were made by chairman Jack Adams, again our oldest participant at the Canadians this year. This great annual event was superbly hosted by the Greater Victoria Horseshoe Association, which regroups more than 175 members! Their beautiful permanent facilites have to be rated among the best, if not the best in Canada. Delicious meals were served everyday (breakfast, lunch and dinner), entertainment was also held under the popular “beer tent” where some horseshoe pitchers also shined at the karaoke, the trophies (made by Jim Gallant) again had an original characteristic. Special thanks go to Dorothy Butts, tournament coordinator for the GVHA, and their great team of volunteers. We want to thank all the people who worked hard (specially the tournament directors Sheryl and Wally Arnold), sponsors, participants and fans who helped make this 2010 tournament a memorable success!


About the AGM:

Tom Moffat was elected as Vice-President, Lia Snell as Secretary and Wally Arnold as Tournament director. The 2011 Canadians will be held in Blainville, Quebec from August 11-14, while the 2012 Canadians were awarded to Saskatoon (dates to be determined).



Colin Finnie in action at the 2010 Canadians.

Colin Finnie in action at the 2010 Canadians.

No comments.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • cheap nfl authentic jerseys
  • cheap nfl jerseys
  • cheap nfl jerseys china
  • cheap jerseys
  • Cheap nfl jerseys
  • cheap nfl jerseys china
  • Cheap nfl jerseys
  • cheap nfl jerseys
  • cheap nfl jerseys
  • Cheap nfl jerseys
  • cheap jerseys from china
  • cheap nfl jerseys china