September 9 2003 Canadian Doubles Horseshoe Champions
Canadian Doubles Horseshoe Pitching Champions through the years

While the first Canadian singles championship was held in 1929, the first Canadian championships, doubles only, were held in 1927! The doubles were very popular and were held every year during the "Royal Winter Fair era" of the Canadians (i.e.: 1927 to 1938). There was also a County and Rural Doubles championship, regrouping the winners of various County Fair horseshoe competitions. That competition was started in 1928 and continued up to 1932.
The doubles were revived in the 1950s but for some of those years (like 1957 and 1958), they involved only players who failed to qualify for the top singles classes.

Canadian Doubles Champions
1927    Bill Struthers & Walter Kane, Sarnia
1928    Norm Brown & William Coulter, Toronto
1929    John Riley & Stan Riley, Christiana
1930    Bill Struthers & Tom Buckingham, Sarnia
1931    Fred Harburn & Paul Boa, Hensall
1932    George Walwin, Whitby & Joseph Golden, Mt Dennis
1933    George Walwin, Whitby & Joseph Golden, Mt Dennis
1934    George Craggs & James Daniels, Toronto
1935    no tournament
1936    record missing
1937    record missing
1938    George Craggs & Joe Jeffries, Toronto

1951    Stan Woodward & ???, Toronto
1954    Harold Blackman & Cecil Shields, East York
1955    record missing
1956    Dean McLaughlin, Oshawa & Harvey Clendenning, Stouffville
1957    Ed Willis, Lorne Park & Richard Mathias, Port Credit
1958    John Karges, Kitchener & Mr Wrightsen, Kitchener

Canadian "County and Rural" Doubles Champions
1928    Herbert A. Howson & Sellew S. Kent, London, Ont.
1929    Norman Brown & William Coulter, Toronto, Ont.
1930    Harley G. Brady & E.S. Brady, Fenwick, Ont.
1931    Fred Harburn & Paul Boa, Hensall
1932    Robert "Lefty" Ferris & Charles Woodward, Toronto, Ont.

Back to Main Page